Awards and Nominations

Photo: Elliott Franks


ARAD is a title awarded to those who have become an Associate of the Royal Academy of Dance.

The way that we designate ARAD is changing, more information is coming soon.

FI Chor.

The Fellowship of the Institute of Choreology is given in recognition of a long period of outstanding service to the Benesh Institute and Benesh Movement Notation. Please click below to apply.


The Fellowship of the Royal Academy of Dance is awarded to members in recognition of a long period of outstanding service to the RAD and to the art of ballet.

President’s Award

This is given to an individual who has for many years dedicated themselves over and above the call of duty to the RAD.

Queen Elizabeth II Coronation Award

The Queen Elizabeth II Coronation Award (QEII Award) is presented in recognition of outstanding services to ballet. It was established in 1953 by Dame Adeline Genée and among its recipients have been: Sir Frederick Ashton, Dame Marie Rambert DBE, Dame Ninette de Valois DBE, Gillian Lynne CBE, Alexander Grant CBE, Sir Peter Wright CBE, Victor and Lilian Hochhauser, Rachel Cameron, The Royal Ballet, and Sir Matthew Bourne OBE.

The British Honours System

These awards are not given by the RAD but may offer appropriate recognition for people associated with us.

Honours lists are published twice a year. Anyone can be eligible for an award if they reach the required standard of merit or service and anyone can nominate someone for an award. Nominations are handled by the Cabinet Office and are granted after the informal approval of The Queen.

The image at the top of the page shows a detail from the original QEII award presented between 1953 and 1983.

Nominate someone deserving of an award!

We grant a variety of awards in recognition of lifelong service, both to dance and to the RAD.